The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility


Ray Conley, Optics Fabrication Section Leader in the Optics (OPT) Group of the Advanced Photon Source (APS) X-ray Science Division at Argonne is one of four recipients of a 2015 “R&D 100 Award” for development of the binary pseudo-random calibration tool, which “provides the highest resolution ever achieved, 1.5 nanometers, and is used to characterize all advanced imaging systems from interferometers to electron microscopes, according to the award citation.
Researchers using the X-ray Science Division 34-ID-E beamline at the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne Advanced Photon Source (APS) are exploring the use of X-rays as a key path to integrated computational materials engineering.
Scientific solutions to global issues increasingly rely on the powerful facilities, tools and expertise located on national laboratory campuses.
Daniel Haskel of the X-ray Science Division (XSD) of the Argonne Advanced Photon Source has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society upon the recommendation of the Division of Condensed Matter Physics.
The ASM Henry Marion Howe Medal for 2015A has been awarded to the paper “In Situ Characterization of Twin Nucleation in Pure Ti Using 3D-XRD” published in Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A by a group of researchers that includes one current and one former APS staff member as well as a former APS visiting scientist. 
Jana Šmilauerová, a student at the Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic, and a student user of the ChemMatCARS x-ray beamline at the Argonne Advanced Photon Source
The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) spotlighted the work of a group of Argonne researchers who utilized two x-ray beamlines at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source in applying high pressure techniques to a new area of materials science research.
The x-ray electron-free laser is the perfect example of new technology and old perceptions converging on that narrow boundary between science and science fiction.
Yanglai Cho, a principal member of the small, dedicated team that brought the U.S. Department of Energy's Advanced Photon Source (APS) to Argonne, and one of the principal designers of this revolutionary synchrotron x-ray light source, passed away on June 14, 2015, of complications from pneumonia. He was 82 years of age.
Nearly 100 participants gathered at Fermilab to participate in the Midwest Launch of the Accelerator Stewardship Test Facility Pilot Program.
The 2015 Award for Excellence in Beamline Science at the Advanced Photon Source (APS) was awarded on May 11, 2015, to Daniel Haskel, Group Leader of the Argonne X-ray Science Division Magnetic Materials Group.
Brian H. Toby has been named the sixteenth recipient of Barrett Award. This biennial award is made in the name of Charles S. Barrett, who faithfully served the x-ray diffraction community for many decades. The award, which consists of a cash prize and a recognition plaque, will be presented at the Plenary Session of the 2015 Denver X-ray Conference, to be held in Westminster, Colorado, August 3-7, 2015.
The Advanced Photon Source (APS) Users Organization has announced that the 2015 APS Arthur H. Compton Award has been awarded to Gene E. Ice, Bennett C. Larson, and Cullie J. Sparks (posthumously), all of Oak Ridge National Laboratory.
On March 26, 2015, Advanced Photon Source (APS) employees and users, past and present, together with other members of the Argonne community, gathered to reminisce and celebrate the 20th Anniversary of first light (x-rays) from the APS.
Stephen Streiffer has been appointed Associate Laboratory Director (ALD) for Photon Sciences and Director of the Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory, effective April 1, 2015.
Karena W. Chapman has been named one of two recipients of the prestigious Materials Research Society (MRS) Outstanding Young Investigator Award for 2015.
A new book by an Advanced Photon Source group leader and Northern Illinois University (NIU) professor sheds light on x-rays.