The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility


The Argonne Accelerator Institute (AAI) was initiated in 2002 by Kwang-Je Kim of the Argonne Accelerator Systems Division, who has ably guided the AAI from its inception.
As part of Argonne National Laboratory’s fifth annual "Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day" (IGED2006), a number of APS employees participated in the Lab-wide tours and demonstrations that gave 40 sixth-, seventh-, and eighth-grade girls from public, private, and home schools a first-hand look at the possibilities of careers in engineering and science.
Argonne physicist Lee Teng has been named the winner of the 2007 American Physical Society's Robert R. Wilson Prize, which recognizes outstanding achievement in the physics of particle accelerators.
Lori Khatchadourian (University of Michigan) and Adam Smith (The University of Chicago) switch sample mounts at the ChemMatCARS 15-ID-D beamline.
Peter Chupas of the Argonne X-ray Science Division (XSD) Chemistry, Environmental, and Polymer Science Group has been named the 2006 recipient of the Sidhu Award, given each year by the Pittsburgh Diffraction Society “for the best contribution to crystallography or diffraction by an investigator within five years of the Ph.D.” Chupas was recognized for his work on studies leading to the development of a new method for rapid collection of pair-distribution-function (PDF) data.
At 10:24 a.m. on June 27, 2006, two x-ray beams from dual canted undulators drilled twin channels into a block of acrylic. The Life Sciences Collaborative Access Team ( LS-CAT ) marked its first step toward emerging as the newest structural biology sector at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory.
A novel technique to study intracerebral iron oxide particles associated with Alzheimer's, Huntington's, and Parkinson's diseases has been developed.
The High Resolution Inelastic X-ray Spectrometer HERIX at Advanced Photon Source sector 30 recently recorded its first spectrum during the commissioning phase.
Michael Reedy (Duke University) and Tanya Bekyarova (Illinois Institute of Technology) in action on the Bio-CAT beamline 18-ID at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source (APS), Argonne National Laboratory. They are studying mechanisms of stretch activation in insect flight muscle.
A high-level Australian delegation led by the State of Victoria’s Treasurer and Innovation Minister John Brumby recently visited the Advanced Photon Source (APS) to enhance the delegation's understanding of the benefits of synchrotron science.
The Advanced Photon Source (APS) Users Organization (APSUO) is pleased to announce that Wendy L. Mao is the recipient of the 2006 "Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award."
Researchers at the Structural Biology Center located at the Advanced photon Source have contributed their 1,000th structure to the Protein Data Bank.
Permanent magnets that are used in a wide range of products and technologies could be made longer-lasting and more powerful, thanks to research carried out on an X-ray Operations and Research sector 4 beamline of the APS at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory. Read the articles at and