The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

APS Award for Excellence in Beamline Science to Jan Ilavsky of XSD

The inaugural Award for Excellence in Beamline Science at the Advanced Photon Source (APS) was presented to Argonne Physicist Jan Ilavsky, an X-ray Science Division beamline scientist working in partnership with ChemMatCARS at APS Sector 15.

The award, which was presented at the 2013 APS/CNM/EMC Users Meeting, recognizes Ilavsky's work in creating the world-leading APS ultra-small-angle x-ray scattering (USAXS) facility for the exploration of materials-based phenomena in pure and applied science.

Under his direction, USAXS has evolved from a "niche" technique to a mainstream capability enabling forefront research in static microstructure relationships as well as dynamics. Areas include nanoparticle formation, growth, aggregation, and stabilization; correlation of microstructure and properties in thermal barrier coatings, xerogels and aerogels, fuel cells, elastomeric materials and superalloys; and dynamics of particle interactions in inaccessible time and size ranges.

The Award for Excellence in Beamline Science at the Advanced Photon Source is intended to recognize beamline scientists who have made significant scientific contributions in their area of research or instrumentation development and have promoted the user community in this area.

This award is conferred each year on an active APS beamline scientist, regardless of employer or rank. It may recognize a career of meaningful, sustained contribution; a body of recent important work; and/or a single work of particular importance. Potential nominees are limited to full-time beamline scientists at the APS with at least half of their time spent on user operations or instrument development.

Contact Jan Ilavsky at

The Advanced Photon Source at Argonne is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science under contract DE-AC02-06CH11357. ChemMatCARS Sector 15 is principally supported by the National Science Foundation/Department of Energy under grant number NSF/CHE-0822838. Use of the Advanced Photon Source was supported by the U. S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Basic Energy Sciences, under Contract No. DE-AC02-06CH11357.

The Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory is one of five national synchrotron radiation light sources supported by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science to carry out applied and basic research to understand, predict, and ultimately control matter and energy at the electronic, atomic, and molecular levels, provide the foundations for new energy technologies, and support DOE missions in energy, environment, and national security. To learn more about the Office of Science x-ray user facilities, visit

Argonne National Laboratory seeks solutions to pressing national problems in science and technology. The nation's first national laboratory, Argonne conducts leading-edge basic and applied scientific research in virtually every scientific discipline. Argonne researchers work closely with researchers from hundreds of companies, universities, and federal, state and municipal agencies to help them solve their specific problems, advance America's scientific leadership and prepare the nation for a better future. With employees from more than 60 nations, Argonne is managed by UChicago Argonne, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science.

Published Date