The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

Two from XSD are 2019 Postdoctoral Performance Award Recipients

Cunming Liu and Niranjan Parab, postdocs in the APS X-ray Science Division, are among seven recipients of 2019 Argonne Postdoctoral Performance Awards. These awards recognize the significant contributions postdoctoral appointees make to the Argonne and U.S. Department of Energy missions.

Liu was nominated in the basic research category for uncovering fundamental mechanistic details on the electronic and structural response of photoexcited perovskite materials. Parab’s nomination in applied research stems from pioneering work in the field of additive manufacturing.

The Postdoctoral Performance Awards were established by the Argonne Leadership Institute. They acknowledge the diverse expertise of Argonne’s postdoctoral community and the value of postdoctoral appointees’ contributions to the Laboratory’s mission of accelerating science and technology that drive U.S. prosperity and security. Nominations were reviewed by staff from across Argonne using a blind review process in which nominations were scrubbed of identifying information, Division information, and gender-specific language.

Other recipients included Arun Mannodi Kanakkithodi (NST), Tulio Fonseca Rodrigues (CSE), Yingjie Li (CSE), Jianzhe Liu (ES), and Qi Li (ES).

Published Date