The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

2019 APS/IIT XAFS Summer School

The 2019 APS/IIT XAFS Summer School was successfully held July 7-12, 2019. The school takes place annually at the Illinois Institute of Technology’s (IIT’s) main campus in Chicago, Illinois, and the Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory. It is co-organized by Professors Grant Bunker and Carlo Segre from the IIT Physics Department.  In addition to Bunker and Segre, instructors included Steve Heald (Argonne X-ray Science Division), Matt Newville (U. Chicago), Bhoopesh Mishra (IIT), and Shelly Kelly (Honeywell International, Inc.).

Nearly 50 individuals participated, primarily graduate students and postdocs, but also professional scientists from universities and government labs.  Participants hailed from around the world (Australia, the Netherlands, Turkey) and widely from across the U.S. and Canada, including institutions such as Caltech, Yale, Harvard, Stanford, Berkeley, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Savannah River National Laboratory, the National Energy Technology Laboratory, the Army Research Laboratory, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Argonne, and many others). 

The school is a collaboration between the APS, the IIT Physics Department, and participating APS beamlines (5-BM, 9-BM, 12-BM, 13-ID, 10-BM, 10-ID, and 20-BM). The school covers x-ray absorption fine structure basic theory, experimental methods, sample preparation (with lab), data acquisition (with one day of measurements at the APS), and data analysis. The schedule is intense but affords some time for participants to relax and explore Chicago.

Published Date