The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

Yang Ren of XSD Named Co-Winner of the American Iron and Steel Institute “2018 Institute Medal”

Yang Ren, a physicist with the X-ray Science Division (XSD) at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Argonne National Laboratory, joins eight colleagues and co-authors as winners of the American Iron and Steel Institute “2018 Institute Medal” for their paper “Deformation Mode and Strain Path Dependence of Martensite Phase Transformation in a Medium Manganese TRIP Steel.”

The other co-authors/winners are Louis G. Hector, Jr., of GM Global Technical, General Motors Corporation; Xiaohua Hu, of the DOE Pacific Northwest National Laboratory; Panagiotis Makrygiannis, of AK Steel Research and Innovation; Xin Sun, the DOE Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Grant A. Thomas, of AK Steel Research and Innovation; Yu-Wei Wang, of AK Steel Research and Innovation; Wei Wu, of AK Steel Research and Innovation; and Feng Zhu, of AK Steel Research and Innovation.

The winning paper, published in Materials Science and Engineering: A, is based in part on integrated intensity plots computed from Debye rings generated by the high-energy synchrotron x-ray beamline 11-ID-C of the XSD Structural Science Group at the Advanced Photon Source, which is an Office of Science user facility at Argonne. Ren is the lead scientist at 11-ID-C and in charge of the experimental setup. The results “suggest a significant martensite phase transformation dependence on deformation mode and strain path in the absence of fracture and when martensite phase transformation is unaffected by heat generated during forming.”

The award was presented by AISI chairman of the board, and CEO of AK Steel, oger Newport, during the 2018 General Meeting in Washington, D.C. at the Mayflower Hotel. Newport said that “It is my honor to congratulate this year’s Institute Medal winners and finalists on their outstanding achievements. We thank them for their tireless efforts to ensure that the North American steel industry remains among the most competitive in the world through continued innovation and development.”

Established in 1927, the Institute Medal and two Finalist Medals are awarded for technical papers having special merit and importance in connection with the activities and interests of the iron and steel industry. Papers are judged on the potential value to future prosperity of the industry, technical excellence and originality, effective communication and breadth of interest to AISI members.

The inscription on the medal reads: “American Iron and Steel Institute Medal, established by American Iron and Steel Institute, October 28, 1927, to perpetuate the memory of Elbert H. Gary, founder and first president, and to stimulate improvement in the iron and steel and allied industries.”

See: Wei Wu, Yu-Wei Wang*, Panagiotis Makrygiannis, Feng Zhu, Grant A. Thomas, Louis G. Hector, Jr.**, Xiaohua Hu, Xin Sun, and Yang Ren, “Deformation mode and strain path dependence of martensite phase transformation in a medium manganese TRIP steel,” Mat. Sci. Eng. A 711, 611 (2018). DOI: 10.1016/j.msea.2017.11.008

Correspondence: *, **

This research used resources of the Advanced Photon Source, a U.S. DOE Office of Science User Facility operated for the U.S. DOE Office of Science by Argonne National Laboratory under Contract No. DE-AC02-06CH11357.

Argonne National Laboratory seeks solutions to pressing national problems in science and technology. The nation's first national laboratory, Argonne conducts leading-edge basic and applied scientific research in virtually every scientific discipline. Argonne researchers work closely with researchers from hundreds of companies, universities, and federal, state and municipal agencies to help them solve their specific problems, advance America's scientific leadership and prepare the nation for a better future. With employees from more than 60 nations, Argonne is managed by UChicago Argonne, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science.

The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit the Office of Science website.

Published Date