The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

Two from APS Receive U. of C. Distinguished Performance Award

Wah-Keat Lee and Jin Wang (both ANL-XFD) are among five scientists from the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory who have received the 2005 University of Chicago Board of Governors for Argonne Distinguished Performance Award, which recognizes outstanding scientific or technical achievements or a distinguished record of achievements.

Wang and Lee are being honored for their success in using X-rays in a wide range of research. Wang is a world-renowned expert in the application of X-ray scattering to a variety of materials science problems. He is best known for his research into the dynamics of fuel sprays, where he applied an innovative research approach and achieved unique results. Lee, after many years of developing successful high-heat load X-ray optics, switched fields and became an expert in phase contrast X-ray imaging. The results of his "in-vivo" imaging of breathing insects have been acclaimed worldwide.

Wang and Lee currently collaborate on projects that use their combined expertise to great effect. They have developed an ultra-fast x-ray phase-contrast imaging technique with submicrosecond exposure times using the Advanced Photon Source. The technique has many possible applications, and is expected to have a significant impact on a variety of scientific areas.

Published Date