The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

Sidorowicz of AES Earns UChicago Argonne, LLC Board of Governors Outstanding Service Award for 2010


Ken Sidorowicz of the APS Engineering Support Division (AES) is one of four winners of the 2010 UChicago Argonne, LLC Board of Governors Outstanding Service Award. The award notes that Sidorowicz is recognized “as more than an outstanding manager; he is a true technical leader [who] has helped to ensure that important programs at Argonne have stayed at the leading edge of information technology [IT] for more than three decades.” The awards are presented at a ceremony held at Argonne, this year on July 8, 2010.

Sidorowicz joined Argonne in 1977 as a member of the Electronics Division, where he worked on the installation and maintenance of the Intense Pulsed Neutron Source data acquisition computer systems. He went on to develop diagnostic software for quality assurance testing of the CAMAC modules for the Treat Reactor upgrade. In 1986, the Neutral Particle Beam project began, and he was responsible for managing the computer systems and network, as well as developing software for the remote CAMAC crates. Later, he was responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Computer Service Group, managing the Electronics Division's (EL’s) VAX computer systems and network as well as many of the VAX systems and networks throughout the Argonne site.

After assisting the Advanced Photon Source (APS) for one year, Sidorowicz joined the APS Computer Support Group in 1990. He became the APS network manager and designed the networks used for the APS accelerator control system, central lab/office, and the lab/office modules. Sidorowicz is currently Group Leader for the APS Engineering Support Division Information Technology Group, which is responsible for managing all the computers and networks at the APS, Under Sidorowicz 's leadership, these systems successfully meet the demanding requirements for a robust, highly reliable infrastructure required for APS operations. Sidorowicz has been a leader in the area of cyber security for the Laboratory and was responsible for both configuring and managing the APS firewalls, which were the first firewalls at Argonne, as well as many other cyber security projects. More recently, Sidorowicz has been the Co-Team Leader for the IT Laboratory Management System (LMS) core process. In this role he has helped guide the transition to the procedure-based LMS system for Lab-wide IT services.

Sidorowicz has received Pacesetter awards for exceptional performance as a member of the EL Computer Service Group for his part in planning and executing the transfer of all APS computer resources to the 400 area with no loss of services. Sidorowicz has served on several Laboratory-wide committees, including: the Cyber Security Group, the Network Managers Group, the Unix Standards Group, the PC Standards Group, and the IT Architecture & Review Group.

Also receiving 2010 UChicago Argonne, LLC Board of Governors Outstanding Service Awards are David M. Baurac (Communications and Public Affairs Division), Edwina Langenberg (Environment, Safety, Health and Quality Assurance Division), and Richard Vondrasek (Physics Division).

Published Date