The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

Jeffrey T. Miller Wins Award for Excellence in Catalysis


Jeffrey T. Miller, leader of the Heterogeneous Catalysis Group in the Argonne National Laboratory Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division (CSE), has been presented with the 2009 Award for Excellence in Catalysis from the Catalysis Society of Metropolitan New York.

Miller is recognized for his strong contributions to the field of catalysis—in particular, his work on important petrochemical processes that contributed to a fundamental understanding of metal catalysts and enabled the upgrading and conversion of former waste streams to valuable chemicals.

In his more recent work he uses x-ray absorption spectroscopy at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source at Argonne to understand the correlation of preparation to structure and function of heterogeneous catalysts.

Miller holds 48 patents and has authored more than 100 peer-reviewed publications in the field of catalysis. He holds a dual appointment at Argonne, where he splits his time between CSE and the Argonne X-ray Sciences Division in Photon Sciences.

Miller graduated with a Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry from Oregon State University in 1980. He joined Amoco Oil Company (now BP Chemicals) in 1980, where he progressed through various leadership positions in the research organization. He joined Argonne in June 2008.

Miller’s Excellence in Catalysis Award lecture, “XAFS Spectroscopy in Catalysis Research: Application to Au Catalysts,” took place in Basking Ridge, NJ, where Miller also received a plaque and cash award.

Published Date