The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

Argonne’s Campuzano Honored by Hispanic Engineering


Juan Carlos Campuzano, an Argonne Distinguished Fellow and Advanced Photon Source (APS) user, is one of two Argonne researchers who have earned a coveted 2007 achievement award from HENAAC.

Campuzano was the recipient of an Outstanding Technical Achievement Award. Monica C. Regalbuto, head of Argonne's Process Chemistry and Engineering Department, won a Professional Achievement Award.

The HENAAC Awards, presented annually for the past 18 years, recognize some of the nation's top engineers, scientists, and technologists of Hispanic heritage. The winners are selected, in part, based on their professional accomplishments and potential as a role model for young people in the Hispanic community. Earlier this year, Mariana Varotto of the Controls Group in the APS Engineering and Support Division was honored as a HENAAC Role Model of the Week.

Campuzano, Regalbuto and other 2007 award winners will be honored at the 19th annual HENAAC conference, to be held October 11-13 in San Diego, CA.

Campuzano, who works in the Synchrotron Radiation Studies Group in Argonne’s Materials Science Division, is credited with landmark advances in the field of high-temperature superconductivity.

Campuzano, together with Peter Abbamonte (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) and James Allen ( University of Michigan) is leading the development of a new sector at the APS, the intermediate energy x-ray scattering (IEX) beamline. The IEX beamline, which will occupy one of the last four open sectors at APS, will bring to the APS user community a brilliant source of polarized soft x-rays that will be useful for studies of buried electronic structures.

Published Date