The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

APS Users' Executive Committee (APS UEC)

The Advanced Photon Source Users' Executive Committee (APS UEC) is responsible for advising the Associate Laboratory Director (ALD) for Photon Sciences in the following areas:

  • The Committee will serve as an advocacy group for the Advanced Photon Source (APS) user community and the APS facility.
  • The Committee will provide advice to the ALD on matters affecting the user community.
  • The Committee will assure good communication between the APS user community and the APS management.
Compton Award
The APS UEC Arthur H. Compton award recognizes important technical or scientific accomplishment at, or beneficial to, the Advanced Photon Source.
Franklin Award 
The APS UEC Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award recognizes important technical or scientific accomplishment by a young investigator that depended on, or is beneficial to, the APS.
The Gopal K. Shenoy Excellence in Beamline Science Award
The APS UEC Gopal K. Shenoy Award for Excellence in Beamline Science recognizes beamline scientists who have made significant scientific contributions in their area of research or instrumentation development and have promoted the user community in this area.


To comment on the contents, please contact or 630-252-9090.