The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

Fanny Rodolakis

Contact Information

Argonne National Laboratory
9700 S. Cass Ave
Argonne, Il 60439

Phone: 630-252-6817 | Fax: 630-252-7392


  • 2015 – present: Assistant Physicist, X-ray Science Division, Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory
  • 2014 – 2015: NIST-CHiMaD Post-doctoral Fellow,  Northwestern University Argonne National Laboratory Institute of Science and Engineering (NAISE), Northwestern University, IL.
  • Oct. 2014: Post-doctoral Research Associate, Institute for Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago, IL.
  • 2011-2014: Post-doctoral Research Associate, Material Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory, IL.
  • 2010-2011: Post-doctoral Research Associate, Physics Department, University of Illinois at Chicago, IL.
  • Université Paris-Sud XI, Orsay, France; Ph. D in Physics, 2009
  • Université Paris-Sud XI, Orsay, France; M.S. in Physics, 2006
  • Université F. Rabelais, Tours, France; B.S. in Physics, 2005
Research Interests

My research is focused on using synchrotron based X-ray techniques to explore collective electronic behavior and order in emergent materiels via ARPES, XAS and RSXS, namely structural strongly correlated systems such as heavy fermions, high Tc superconductor and metal-insulator transitions.

Selected Publications
  1. "Carrier localization in perovskite nickelates from oxygen vacancies." M. Kotiuga , Z. Zhang, J. Li, F. Rodolakis, H. Zhou, R. Sutarto, F. He, Q. Wang, Y. Sun, Y. Wang, N. Alsadat Aghamiri, S. Bennett Hancock, L. Rokhinson, D. Landau, Y. Abate, J. W. Freeland, R. Comin, S. Ramanathan, K. M. Rabe.
    Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (Oct 2019).

  2. "High mobility in a van der Waals layered antiferromagnetic metal." S. Lei, J. Lin, Y. Jia, M. Gray, A. Topp, G. Farahi, S. Klemenz, F. Rodolakis, J. L. McChesney, C. R. Ast, A. Yazdani, K. S. Burch, S. Wu, N. P. Ong and L. M. Schoop.
    Science Advances, accepted (Sep 2019).

  3. "Large Fermi surface expansion through anisotropic mixing of conduction and f electrons in the semimetallic Kondo lattice CeBi." P. Li, Z. Wu, F. Wu, C. Guo, Y. Liu, Z. Sun, M. Shi, F. Rodolakis, J. L. McChesney, C Cao, F. Steglich, H. Yuan, Y. Liu.
    Phys. Rev. B 100, 155110 (2019).

  4. "Direct observation of delithiation as the origin of analog memristance in LixNbO2." S. A. Howard, C. N. Singh, G. J. Paez, M. J. Wahila, L. W. Wangoh, S. Sallis, K. Tirpak, Y. Liang, D. Prendergast, M. Zuba, J. Rana, A. Weidenbach, T. M. McCrone, W. Yang, T. L. Lee, F. Rodolakis, W. Doolittle, W. C. Lee, and L. F. J. Piper.
    APL Materials 7, 071103 (2019).

  5. "Evidence of a Second-Order Peierls-Driven Metal-Insulator Transition in Crystalline NbO2 : A Novel Electroforming-Free Switching Mechanism for Analog Memristors." M. J. Wahila, G. Paez, C. N. Singh, A. Regoutz, S. Sallis, J. Rana, M. B. Tellekamp, J. E. Boschker, T. Markurt, J. E. N. Swallow, L. A. H. Jones, T. D. Veal, W. Yang, T. L. Lee, F. Rodolakis, J. T. Sadowski, D. Prendergast, W. C. Lee, W. A. Doolittle, L. F. J. Piper.
    Physical Review Materials 3, 074602 (2019).

  6. "Phase-Behavior of Mixed Polymer Brushes Grown from Ultra-thin Coatings." W. Wei, T.Y. Kim, A. Balamurugan, J. Sun, R. Chen, A. Ghosh, F. Rodolakis, J. L. McChesney, A. Lakkham, P. G. Evans, S.M. Hur, P. Gopalan.
    ACS Macro Lett. 8, 1086 (2019).

  7. "Cooperative Effects of Strain and Electron Correlation in Epitaxial VO2 and NbO2." W.C. Lee, M.J. Wahila, S. Mukherjee, T. Eustance, C.N. Singh, H. Paik, F. Rodolakis, D. G. Schlom, L.F. J. Piper.
    Journal of Applied Physics 125, 082539 (2019)

  8. "Electronically enhanced layer buckling and Au-Au dimerization in epitaxial LaAuSb films." P. J. Strohbeen, D. Du, C. Zhang, E. H. Shourov, F. Rodolakis, J. L. McChesney, P. M. Voyles, and J. K. Kawasaki.
    Physical Review Materials 3, 024201 (2019).

  9. "Mechanical Design of a UHV Non-Magnetic Kappa Diffractometer." S. Kearney, D. Shu, F. Rodolakis, D. Arms, P. Jemian and J. McChesney.
    AIP Conference Proceedings 2054, 060039 (2019).

  10. "The effect of spin-orbit coupling on nonsymmorphic square-net compounds", A. Topp, M. G. Vergniory, M. Krivenkov, A. Varykhalov, F. Rodolakis, J. L. McChesney, B. V. Lotsch, C. R. Ast, L. M. Schoop.
    Journal of Physics and Chemistry of Solids 128, 296 (2019).

  11. "Surface floating 2D bands in layered nonsymmorphic semimetals : ZrSiS and related compounds", A. Topp, R. Queiroz, A. Grüneis, L. Müchler, A. Rost, A. Varykhalov, D. Marchenko, M. Krivenkov, F. Rodolakis, J. L. McChesney, B. V. Lotsch, L. M. Schoop, C. R. Ast.
    Physical Review X 7, 041073 (2017).

  12. "A practical superconducting-microcalorimeter X-ray spectrometer for beamline and laboratory science",
    W.B. Doriese, P. Abbamonte, B.K. Alpert, D.A. Bennett, E.V. Denison, Y. Fang, D.A. Fischer, C.P. Fitzgerald, J.W. Fowler, J.D. Gard, J.P. Hays-Wehle, G.C. Hilton, C. Jaye, J.L. McChesney, L. Miaja-Avila, K.M. Morgan, Y.I. Joe, G.C. O’Neil, C.D. Reintsema, F. Rodolakis, D.R. Schmidt, H. Tatsuno, J. Uhlig, L.R. Vale, J.N. Ullom, D.S. Swetz.
    Rev. Sci. Instrum.  88, 053108 (2017).

  13. "Minimizing Grating Slope Errors in the IEX Monochromator at the Advanced Photon Source Classification Beam Lines",
    Michael Fisher, Jun Qian, Jessica McChesney, Ruben Reininger, F. Rodolakis.
    9th Mechanical Engineering Design of Synchrotron Radiation Equipment and Instrumentation Conference, N/A (2016), online.

  14. “Evolution of the electronic structure of a Mott system across its phase diagram : X-ray absorption spectroscopy study of (V1−xCrx)2O3”, F. Rodolakis, J.-P. Rueff, M. Sikora, I. Alliot, J.-P. Itié, F. Baudelet, S. Ravy, P. Wzietek, P. Hansmann, A. Toschi, M. W. Haverkort, G. Sangiovanni, K. Held, P. Metcalf, and M. Marsi.
    Physical Review B 84, 245113 (2011).

  15. “Inequivalent routes across the Mott transition in V2O3 explored by X-ray absorption”, F. Rodolakis, P. Hansmann, J.-P. Rueff, A. Toschi, M.W. Haverkort, G. Sangiovanni, A. Tanaka, T. Saha- Dasgupta, K. Held, M. Sikora, I. Alliot, J.-P. Itié, F. Baudelet, P. Wzietek, P. Metcalf, and M. Marsi.
    Physical Review Letters 104, 047401 (2010).

  16. “A Microscopic View on the Mott transition in Chromium-doped V2O3”, S. Lupi, L. Baldassarre, B. Mansart, A. Perucchi, A. Barinov, P. Dudin, E. Papalazarou, F. Rodolakis, J.-P. Rueff, J.-P. Itié, S. Ravy, D. Nicoletti, P. Postorino, P. Hansmann, N. Parragh, A. Toschi, T. Saha- Dasgupta, O. K. Andersen, G. Sangiovanni, K. Held, M. Marsi.
    Nature Communication 1 :105, doi : 10.1038/ncomms1109 (2010).

  17. “Quasiparticles at the Mott transition in V2O3 : wavevector dependence and surface attenuation”,F. Rodolakis, B. Mansart, E. Papalazarou, S. Gorovikov, P. Vilmercati, L. Petaccia, A. Goldoni, J.-P. Rueff, S. Lupi, P. Metcalf, and M. Marsi.
    Physical Review Letters 102, 066805 (2009) - Selected for Physics Synopsis, February 17 (2009).