Comprehensive Program
Workshop Descriptions

Call for Poster Abstracts
APSUO Elections
Franklin Award

Registration Form
General Information
Travel and Housing



Comprehensive Program

Monday | Tuesday | Wednesday | Thursday

Monday, May 3, 2004


Registration, Bldg. 402, Lobby

8:30 am--6:00 pm

First Users Meeting for the Argonne Center for Nanoscale Materials (Comprehensive Program)

8:00 am--4:00 pm

Vendor exhibit set-up, Bldg. 402, Gallery

11:30 pm--1:30 pm


4:30 pm--6:30 pm

Wine and cheese reception (sponsored by Blake Industries)

Tuesday, May 4, 2004


Registration, Bldg. 401, Atrium

8:50 am--4:30 pm

Workshop 1: Nanomagnetism
Dongqi Li, Seth Darling

8:45 am--4:30 pm

Workshop 2: Future Directions in Synchrotron Environmental Science
Steve Sutton, Ken Kemner, Shelly Kelly

8:30 am--4:00 pm

Workshop 3: The Protein Crystallography Technology and Logistics Collaboration
Malcolm Capel, Stephan Ginell, Lisa Keefe, John Rose

8:30 am--5:30 pm

Workshop 4: Inelastic X-ray Scattering: Present and Future at the APS
Ercan Alp, John Hill

9:00 am--5:00 pm

Workshop 5: Chemical and Biological Nanoscale Materials
David Tiede, Andrew Goshe

10:00 am--11:00 am


11:30 am--1:30 pm


2:30 pm--4:00 pm


4:00 pm--6:00 pm

Poster Session & Reception

6:30 pm--9:30 pm

Partner User Council Meeting

Wednesday, May 5, 2004


Registration, Bldg. 401, Atrium

Chair: Stephen Durbin, Purdue

9:00 am--9:05 am

Stephen Durbin, Chair, APS Users Organization Steering Committee

9:05 am--9:10 am

Hermann Grunder, Director, Argonne National Laboratory

9:10 am--9:45 am

View from the Hill
Ellen Burns, Aide to Congressman Vern Ehlers (MI)

9:45 am--10:15 am

DOE Perspective
Patricia Dehmer, DOE Office of Basic Energy Science

10:15 am--10:35 am


10:35 am--11:20 am

APS Update
J. Murray Gibson, Associate Laboratory Director for the APS

11:20 am--11:45 am

Status of Insertion Device Developments and Operations at the APS
Efim Gluskin, APS

11:45 am--12:10 pm

Facility Beamline Operations and Research -- Expanding Opportunities.
Gabrielle Long, APS

12:10 pm--1:30 pm


Chair: Mark Rivers, The University of Chicago

1:30 pm--2:10 pm

The Scientific Legacy of Cullie Sparks: Contributions to X-ray Optics, Atomic Physics, Materials and Synchrotron Science
Gene Ice, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

2:10 pm--2:50 pm

Mineral Surfaces: Bridging Absorption and Co-precipitation
Richard Reeder, SUNY Stony Brook

2:50 pm--3:10 pm


3:10 pm--3:50 pm

The Compact Light Source: A Miniature Synchrotron Light Source for your Home Lab
Ronald D. Ruth, Lyncean Technologies, Inc.

3:50 pm--4:30 pm

Chemical Analysis of Interplanetary Dust Particles: Clues to the First Dust in the Solar System and Preparation for the First Samples Returned from a Comet
George Flynn, SUNY Plattsburgh

4:00 pm--6:00 pm

Poster Session

6:45 pm--??

Banquet: A Midwestern Country Evening; Argonne Guest House

Thursday, May 6, 2004

Chair: Stephan Ginell, Argonne National Laboratory

8:30 am--9:10 am

Molecular Recognition Events in RNA Interference and Glycolipid Transfer Processes
Dinshaw J. Patel, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

9:10 am--9:50 am

Designing Drugs to Fit Targets: Structure-based Drug Design in Drug Discovery
Jonathan Greer, Abbott Laboratories

9:50 am--10:30 am

Anthrax Adenylyl Cylcase Toxin
Wei-Jen Tang, University of Chicago

10:30 am--10:50 am


10:50 am--11:30 am

The Role of Synchrotron Experiments in Understanding Deep Planetary Interiors
Thomas Duffy, Princeton University

11:30 am--11:45 am

APSUO Election Results; Announcement of Student Poster Prize Winners

11:45 am--12:15 pm

Rosalind Franklin Award and Acceptance
Alexis Templeton, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

12:15 pm--1:30 pm

Lunch , Building 402, Lower-level patio, under the tent

12:15 pm--1:30 pm

Joint Luncheon Meeting of the Incoming and Outgoing APS Users Organization Steering Committee
Building 401, Room A5000


1:30 pm--6:00 pm

Workshop 6: X-ray Detector Technologies: Present and Future Directions
Patricia Fernandez, John Quintana

1:30 pm--5:00 pm

Workshop 8: Advancing Actinide Science
Lynda Soderholm

2:00 pm--5:20 pm

Workhop 7: Small-angle X-ray Scattering at the APS
David Cookson, Pete Jemian

3:00 pm--4:00 pm


APSUO Elections | Banquet | Call for Poster Abstracts | Comprehensive Program
Franklin Award | Exhibitors/Sponsors | General Information | Registration Form | Schedule-at-a-Glance |
Travel and Housing | Workshop Descriptions | Home

APS User Office