XII International Materials Research Congress 2003

AUGUST 17-21, 2003



A two-day international symposium on Synchrotron Radiation in Materials Research is planned. This symposium, which will provide an opportunity to discuss recent advances in materials research using synchrotron radiation will take place in a relaxed environment provided by the venue of the XII International Materials Research Congress 2003. The opportunities for materials research created by the availability of synchrotron radiation spread over a broad wavelength range are extraordinary. These include structure and dynamics of surfaces, interfaces, metal oxides, magnets, catalysts, superconductors, polymers, thin films, nanostructures,materials in ancient arts and archeology, and technological materials used in modern industry. The potential impact of new sources such as the x-ray free-electron laser promises to extend these frontiers even further.

Symposium 22 includes presentations by leading international authorities in the field and provides a unique opportunity for participation by all attendees of the XII International Materials Research Congress 2003.

The symposium organizers also invite contributed papers. Time will be made available for the oral presentations based on the papers.The symposium organizers especially welcome graduate students and postdoctoral candidates who wish to learn about new research opportunities at various synchrotron radiation facilities.

For details of the Congress:

Important Dates:

Symposium Dates: August 19 and 20, 2003.                                                                            


Before June 15, 2003...USD $300                                                                                          

After June 15, 2003.....USD $350                                                                                               

Students ......................USD $100                                                                       

Hotel Reservation: Casa Magna Cancun Marriot Hotel                                                                                                     



Organizers of Symposium 22:    Gopal Shenoy, Symposium Chair

                                                Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory


                                                James Viccaro, Symposium Co-Chair  

                                                The University of Chicago




Academia Mexicana de Ciencia de Materiales

XII International Materials Research Congress 2003 Organizers and Sponsors

U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Basic Energy Sciences

Confirmed Invited Speakers and Subjects:

Ercan Alp (Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory): Investigating Collective Excitations in Condensed Matter

Orlando Auciello (Argonne National Laboratory): Dynamics of Thin-Film Growth

Zhonghou Cai (Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory): Probing Materials at Micro- and Nano-Scales

John Carlisle (Argonne National Laboratory): Bonding in Non-crystalline Oxides

Russell Chianelli (University of Texas): Fuel Cells, Catalysts, and Azul Maya

Roy Clarke (University of Michigan): Capturing Transient Structures

Cylone da Silva (LNLS, Campinas, Brazil): Advances in Material Research at LNLS

John Freeland (Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory): Spin Induction at Transition Metal/ Semiconductor Interfaces

Russell Hemley (Carnegie Institute, Washington DC): New Light on Materials under Pressure

Gene Ice (Oak Ridge National Laboratory): X-ray Microanalysis of Materials for the 21st Century

Eric D. Isaacs (Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies): Advanced Materials Characterization for Future Nanotechnologies

Stefan Kycia (LNLS, Campinas, Brazil): Self-Assembled Germanium Islands on Silicon

Jose Mustre de Leon (Cinvestav-Merida, Mexico): Inhomogeneous Ground State of Cuprate Superconductors

George Srajer (Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory): Magnetic Imaging of Biquadratic Exchange in Ferromagnetic Bilayers

Carol Thompson (Northern Illinois University): Study of Ferroelectric Switching

Helio Tolentino (LNLS, Campinas, Brazil): Study of Thin Films of Magnetic Materials

James Viccaro (The University of Chicago): Nanoparticles in Thin Films, Interface, and Composite Materials

Jin Wang (Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory): X-ray Vision of Fuel Sprays

Edgar Weckert (HASYLAB, Germany): TESLA-XFEL at DESY: Concept, Status and Examples for Applications in Biology