2003 APSUO Steering Committee Elections



The APSUO Steering Committee (SC) advises the Advanced Photon Source Director on matters affecting the user community, serves as an advocacy group for the Facility and its user community, and assures good communication between the APS user community and the APS management. Furthermore, the APSUO is responsible for organizing the APS Users Meetings. Consequently, it is important that all segments of the APS community are represented on the APSUO SC.

The following people have been nominated by the APSUO Steering Committee for the upcoming election:

  1. Klaus Attenkofer, Experimental Facilities Division, Argonne National Laboratory
  2. Grant Bunker, Department of Physics, Illinois Institute of Technology
  3. Malcolm Capel, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Cornell University
  4. Julie Cross, Department of Physics, University of Washington
  5. Michael Garavito, Department of Biochemistry, Michigan State University
  6. Stephan Ginell, Biosciences Division, Argonne National Laboratory
  7. Gene Ice, Metals and Ceramics Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  8. David Reis, Department of Physics, University of Michigan
  9. Mark Rivers, Department of Geophysical Sciences and Center for Advanced Radiation Sources, The University of Chicago
  10. Mark Schlossman, Physics Department, University of Illinois at Chicago
  11. Geoffrey Stamper, Structural Biology, Abbott Laboratories
  12. Carol Thompson, Physics Department, Northern Illinois University
  13. Gayle Woloschak, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

Six new members will be elected by means of an electronic web-based voting procedure, with an open voting period two weeks before the APS users meeting. A list of current APSUO steering committee members can be found at: http://www.aps.anl.gov/user/committees/apsuo/members/.

Additional Nominees

Any APSUO member may suggest additional candidates to the nominating committee (Dean Haeffner, John Rose, Amy Rosenzweig, and Brian Stephenson). Nominations will be accepted by petition of 25 or more current APSUO members (0.5% of APSUO membership) in support of each candidate. These petitions should be sent to apsuser@aps.anl.gov before 8 a.m. on Monday, March 31, 2003. It is the responsibility of the nominator to ensure that sufficient petitions are received before this deadline for the nomination to be accepted. A final slate of candidates will be announced at the beginning of the open voting period


Voting will take place from Monday, April 14, 2003 until 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, April 30, 2003. A link to the APSUO ballot webpage will be available here during the voting period. Users will be asked to provide their name and APS users badge # to validate their ballot.


Election results will be announced during the APSUO business meeting on May 1, 2003.

Adjunct Meetings | APSUO Elections | Banquet | Call for Poster Abstracts | Comprehensive Program
Compton Award | Exhibitors/Sponsors | General Information | | Schedule-at-a-Glance |
Travel and Housing | Workshop Descriptions | Home



APS User Office